Since 2008 Sean Neahusan has been working in criminal law, first as a prosecutor and since May 2016 as a criminal defense attorney. He handles everything from citations to Category A Felonies.
In Nevada, Crimes are either misdemeanors, gross misdemeanors, or Felonies. Felonies range from Category E (the least egregious) to Category A (the most serious like murder or kidnapping).
Misdemeanors include anything from traffic citations (moving and non-moving), theft, trespassing, assault and battery. The maximum fine for a misdemeanor is $1000 and the maximum jail time is 180 days, or 6 months.
There are two special classes of misdemeanor crimes, Driving under the Influence (DUI) and Domestic Battery (DB). Each of these are enhance-able, meaning subsequent convictions have more significant penalties, and have minimum mandatory sentencing requirements.
A gross misdemeanor is a hybrid between misdemeanor and felony crimes. Gross Misdemeanors are punishable by up to 364 days in jail and up to $2000 in fines.
Category E felonies are generally punishable by 1-4 years in prison and a fine of not more that a $5000 fine. Unless disqualified by the person’s criminal history, probation is mandatory on category E felonies. The most common category E felony is possession of a controlled substance.
Category D felonies include things like Involuntary Manslaughter, 3rd or 4th degree arson, and certain fraud cases. Category D felonies carry a standard penalty of 1-4 years and a fine of not more that $5000. Probation is available, but not mandatory.
Category C felonies are generally punishable by 1-5 years in prison and a fine of not more than $10000. Again, probation is available but not mandatory. Category C crimes include battery causing substantial bodily harm or by strangulation, a 3rd offense domestic battery within 7 years, theft, bribery, and false identification crimes.
Category B felonies include burglary, 2nd degree kidnapping, robbery, assault with a deadly weapon, battery with a deadly weapon, exploitation of elderly or vulnerable persons, and a number of sex crimes. The range of penalties is very broad, ranging from 1-20 years and optional fines that are generally from $10,000-$15,000 although they may reach as high as $500,000.
Category A felonies are the most serious in Nevada and are punishable by life with or without parole, or even by sentence of death. Murder, kidnapping in the 1st degree, sexual assault, and trafficking charges are all category A felonies.