Here’s what you need to know about driving under the influence.
Driving under the influence is not limited to alcohol. Consumption of prescription drugs, illegal narcotics, or other substances can cause you to drive erratically. Under Nevada DUI law, with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 or higher, you are considered legally drunk and can be arrested for drunk driving. Under the legal drinking age, you can be charged with a DUI with a BAC of .02 or higher.
Traffic violations for driving under the influence must be treated seriously and as soon as possible to avoid the range of DUI penalties, where the first consequence is preventing driver’s license suspension. Nevada also has a zero-tolerance policy for marijuana. A drug DUI charge can be filed even if you have incredibly low limits of THC within your system.
Whether this is your first driving under the influence (DUI), commonly referred to as driving while intoxicated (DWI), or your fifth, you need a Neahusan Law criminal defense lawyer who is skilled at resolving DUI traffic violations.
Nevada courts usually place multiple offenders in alcohol education programs or even jail to deal with what it views as a problematic drinking issue. For first-time offenders, Neahusan Law can often remove the DUI from your record so that your car insurance rates don’t increase and you keep your license.
With plenty of years of experience defending individuals from the consequences of drunk driving, Neahusan Law has a track record of successful DUI. After getting arrested for a DUI violation, it is vital that you discuss your case with a Neahusan Law criminal defense lawyer familiar with resolving such cases. Do not face these severe penalties alone; you need a skilled Neahusan Law DUI defense attorney to protect your rights. Remember that your driving privileges and your freedom are on the line.
The charges and penalties for DUI in Nevada depend on several factors, including the defendant’s age, their alleged BAC, and whether they have any prior DUI convictions, among others. For example, a first-time DUI is generally charged as a misdemeanor, with penalties ranging from three days to six months in jail, fines from $500 to $1,100, driver’s license suspension of 185 days, and mandatory attendance at a Victim Impact Panel course.
If an individual is arrested for a second or third DUI in a period of seven years, they will face harsher penalties.
Criminal and administrative consequences are also harsher when the defendant allegedly causes injury or death; in such instances, DUI will be charged as a felony and can result in 2 to 20 years in prison, fines from $2,000 to $5,000, a driver’s license suspension of 3 years, breath interlock device installment for 12 to 36 months, and other penalties.
Our job is to get your charges reduced or secure an outright dismissal of your case. We have a unique understanding of toxicology, probable cause, and DUI procedures.
Nevada prosecutors vigorously pursue DUI charges, which makes it crucial for defendants to contact experienced Neahusan Law DUI attorneys to defend their rights and driving privileges.
If you have been arrested on suspicion of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, it is critical that you put an experienced Neahusan Law attorney on your side as soon as possible. In
Neahusan Law is known for aggressive and effective DUI defense throughout Nevada. Whether you have refused chemical testing or have taken and failed a breathalyzer, do not wait another moment to hire a Neahusan Law attorney.
Our experienced criminal defense attorneys are equipped to identify weaknesses in the prosecution’s case while strengthening your side of the story. Regardless of the circumstances, a Neahusan Law attorney will be invaluable in pursuing a dismissal, minimizing penalties, or working for another positive outcome.
The length for which your driver’s license will be suspended is as follows:
Remember that your driver’s license will NOT be automatically reinstated at the end of the revocation period. You can only have your license reinstated by following all administrative procedures, which may include retaking written and driving skills tests.
You are also allowed to challenge a driver’s license revocation in Nevada by requesting an administrative hearing with the DMV. You only have seven (7) days after being notified of your driver’s license revocation to request an administrative hearing. Requesting the hearing effectively postpones your driver’s license revocation until the outcome of the hearing.
A driver’s license revocation hearing is like a trial. However, it is often more challenging to win such a hearing, as very little evidence is needed to uphold the revocation. An experienced Neahusan Law attorney can challenge the evidence presented at the hearing and work to prove that it is insufficient.
Being arrested for DUI does not mean you do not have any legal options. At Neahusan Law, we can thoroughly investigate your case and help you fight for the best possible outcome under the law. There are multiple valid defenses and strategies Neahusan Law attorneys have used to maintain the innocence and freedom of our clients, such as:
These questions, among others, will be evaluated by our team once you call Neahusan Law. We are ready to fight for your rights and advocate for your future.
Time is of the essence in DUI cases. If you have been arrested for driving under the influence, the most crucial step is to reach out to an experienced Neahusan Law attorney. The sooner you reach out to us, the more available evidence we have to work to your advantage.
Neahusan Law attorneys will fight your legal battles and handle your case with the attention it deserves. Contact Neahusan Law today at 775-420-5142 or on the contact form on our website. We are your legal lifeline in Reno, Sparks, Fallon, Carson City, Fernley, and the surrounding communities of Nevada.